Stay up-to-date with all that's new at My-Island-Jamaica, Click Here to subscribe for my updates and don't miss a thing!

Why Is Jamaica Divided Into Parishes?

why is jamaica divided into parishesAnswered by Tracie Shortridge, Associate Writer

The current design of our beautiful island of Jamaica is a uniquely shaped and artistically bordered vision.

Take a walk with me on this journey of how the boundaries resulted in the creation of the parishes in Jamaica.


Prior to the parishes, there were literally two named ranches owned by the Spaniards called Yallahs and Morant. They were the largest ranches on the island and were therefore used as border markers.

At this time, other than the Yallahs and Morant ranches, the capital of Jamaica was Seville.

With other ranches being developed over the years, there came a need for more markers to differentiate the regions and ranches of the now Spaniard-led Jamaican population.
So, the division took place.

This was between 1572 and 1655. The ranches identified on the map from this division were:-

  • Northside
  • Bluefields
  • Withywood
  • Guanaboa
  • Spanish Town
  • Liguanea
  • Yallahs
  • Morant

The First Parishes

Then the English took over in 1655 and decided that all these ranches were not only too large to be bearing one name and one boundary but also that the country needed a better administrative structure so this gave birth to the first parishes.

This started with seven parishes:-

  • Clarendon
  • St. John’s
  • St. Andrew’s
  • St. Katherine’s
  • Port Royal
  • St. David’s
  • St. Thomas

As you may have noticed with the names, all these parishes were named after wealthy and distinguished people in the English regime.

But with the growth of the trade industry, more parishes were added.

Parishes were created quickly and even had two unnamed parishes until later years.
By 1675, Jamaica boasted a total of 14 parishes. They are as follows in order from West to East:-

  1. Unnamed
  2. St. James
  3. St. Ann
  4. St. Mary
  5. St. George
  6. St. Thomas
  7. St. Elizabeth
  8. Unnamed
  9. Clarendon
  10. St. John
  11. St. Catherine
  12. St. Andrew
  13. Port Royal
  14. St. David

By 1692, other boundaries were created resulting in two additional parishes, with a total at this point of sixteen. They were:-

  • St. Dorothy &
  • Vere

    Kingston was then added in 1703 making it a total of seventeen parishes.

    In 1722, the new Governor of Jamaica, the Duke of Portland, created the parish of Portland from St. George and St. Thomas.

    He also separated one unnamed parish into two parishes and called them Hanover and Westmoreland.

    The Counties

    To further ensure clear and vivid parish lines, the parishes were grouped into three counties, Cornwall, Middlesex and Surrey.

    In 1814, one new parish was added making it a total of 21 parishes.

    The parishes stayed in this order until 1842 when, upon exiting office, Governor Sir Charles Metcalfe was honoured with a parish being named after him, namely, Metcalfe, which was through the elimination of St. George and St. Mary.

    The Elimination & Merger Of Some Parishes

    Then, in 1867, eight parishes were eliminated and other parishes were merged resulting in what we have today, a total of fourteen parishes!

    Cornwall County

    Hanover Lucea
    Saint Elizabeth Black River
    Saint James Montego Bay
    Trelawny Falmouth
    Westmoreland Savanna-la-Mar

    Middlesex County

    Clarendon May Pen
    Manchester Mandeville
    Saint Ann Saint Ann's Bay
    Saint Catherine Spanish Town
    Saint Mary Port Maria

    Surrey County

    Kingston Parish Kingston
    Portland Port Antonio
    Saint Andrew Half Way Tree
    Saint Thomas Morant Bay

    So, why is Jamaica divided into parishes?

    Simple… as regular people device their own unique visions and plans for the future, so too did the leaders of the various administrations. And, based on their vision of growth and economics, they devised what they conceived as the best way forward for the country.

    Be sure to read more about each of the parishes here. Read more about the history of Jamaica here as well.

    Sources Referenced:

    2. Caribbean History for CSEC, by Radica Mahase, Kevin Baldeosingh, 2011

  • Click here to post comments

    Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to JamaicaQuestions.

    Sharing IS Caring... Its now YOUR turn to...

    If you found this page useful, please consider subscribing to my weekly newsletter, to get even more

    It tells you each week about the new information that I have added, including new developments and great stories from lovers of Jamaica! 

    Back To The Top Of This Page

    New! Talk To Me
    Was the information helpful? Something needs changing? I welcome
    your feedback here.

    Read More ...

    Recommended For You ...

    Other Great Articles You Might Have Missed

    Please help me get the message out by sharing this article with your friends on social media (links below). Thnx ;-)

    And, one more way to share

    Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

    1. Click on the HTML link code below.
    2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.

    Also connect with on Social Media: 
    Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    Thank You!

    P.S. Didn't find what you were looking for? Still need help?

    Click Here to try our dependable and effective Site Search tool. It works!

    Or, simply click here and here, to browse my library of over 500 questions and answers! Chances are someone already asked (and got an answer to) your question.

    About The Author

    wellesley gayle - booking link

    A patriotic Jamaican who adore its culture, Wellesley has been using this medium to share what he calls 'the uniqueness of Jamaica with the world' since April 2007.  

    To date, he serves over 9,300 unique readers / viewers per day.

    His efforts have earned this site featured positions in local publications, including the Jamaica Gleaner's Hospitality Jamaica, Carlong Publishers, as well as recognition from numerous prestigious international agencies and universities. Read more about him here.

    He invites you to subscribe to this site to stay updated on all the latest and check out his unique Jamaican products on his Etsy store.  

    If you are on social media, here are the links to follow his latest posts

    You are also invited to join his exclusive JAMHearts community where like-minded Jamaican enthusiasts discuss all things Jamaican. 

    Back To The Top Of This Page