Subscribe for all my updates and don't miss a thing! Sign me up!

In Which Continent Is Jamaica?

Answered by Aneisha Dobson, Associate Writer

Our planet Earth has a unique geographical structure, I’m sure that my geo friends will agree!

The most magical places on Earth can be found in little islands like Bermuda and in very large lands like Russia.
Isn’t nature something? It simply has no limit or boundaries!

One very unique geographical aspect of mother earth is it’s seven continents.

A continent, by the way, is considered to be a large land mass on the earth’s surface surrounded by large bodies of water. The seven continents of the World are:

1. North America
2. South America
3. Asia
4. Africa
5. Australia
6. Europe &
7. Antarctica

So now to your question, "In Which Continent Is Jamaica?"?
Believe it or not, some individuals would say that Jamaica is not a part of a continent because it’s a Caribbean Island.

But, this is not the case.

Jamaica is actually a part of the continent of North America.

When most people think of Northern America, the United States and Canada usually comes to mind. But, North America spans beyond those two countries.

By the way, Did you know that?

1. North America is named after the Italian explorer Amerigo Vespucci?

2. North America cover 16.5% of the world’s landmass?
Interesting right?
Having a land area of approximately 9,540,000 square miles, North America is the world’s third largest continent.

3. North America is enclosed by three oceans.
Arctic Ocean in the north, Atlantic Ocean in the east and the Pacific Ocean in the south and west of the continent.

4. The country of Greenland, which is also a part of North America, is the biggest island in the world.

5. Jamaica is just one of 23 independent countries and 9 dependent countries in North America?

The 23 independent countries are:
1. Antigua and Barbuda
2. Barbados
3. Belize
4. Canada
5. Costa Rica
6. Cuba
7. Dominica
8. El Salvador
9. Grenada
10. Guatemala
11. Haiti
12. Honduras
13. Jamaica
14. Mexico
15. Nicaragua
16. Panama
17. Saint Kitts and Nevis
18. Saint Lucia
19. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
20. The Bahamas
21. The Dominican Republic
22. The United States of America
23. Trinidad and Tobago

Here are the 9 dependent countries
1. Anguilla (UK)
2. Bermuda (United Kingdom)
3. British Virgin Islands (UK)
4. Cayman Islands (UK)
5. Greenland (Denmark)
6. Montserrat (UK)
7. Puerto Rico (USA)
8. Turks and Caicos Islands (UK)
9. United States Virgin Islands (USA)

Now you know :-)


Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to JamaicaQuestions.

Back To The Top Of This Page

New! Experience The REAL Jamaica!
Book Your Private Tour here and experience Jamaica the way we (locals) do!

Read More ...

Recommended For You ...

Other Great Articles You Might Have Missed

P.S. Didn't find what you were looking for? 
Still need help?

Click Here to try our dependable and effective Site Search tool. It works!

Or, simply click here and here, to browse my library of over 500 questions and answers! Chances are someone already asked (and got an answer to) your question.

Back To The Top Of This Page

Like My Site? Please Click Here To Share It With Your Friends

Home   |   JOIN US   |   Site Search   |   Have Your Say   |   Archives   |   Old Archives   |   Contact   |   Disclaimer   |   TIP ME!   |   Link To Us

Do like I did! Share your passion
(about your city, hobby or experience) and make a living from it. Click Here to see how

By Wellesley Gayle   |   Copyright © 2007-2023   |   All rights Reserved.   |   Privacy Policy